Education at Vidant Health

Education is more than a fringe benefit at Vidant Health; it's a way of life. Education is a key component of our organizational mission and the foundation of our corporate culture.

Vidant Health assures staff competence through orientation, professional development and continuing education. We recognize education as a career-long opportunity that includes lectures, seminars, online training and other learning experiences geared to both clinical and non-clinical staff.

Vidant Health is approved to offer nursing contact hours (ANCC) for programs that meet the criteria and instructional hours for non-credited programs. About 120 programs are taught one or more times a year. Topics are covered for both clinical and non-clinical employees.

Clinical courses include, but not limited to: 

  • Nursing/interdisciplinary core courses in areas of specialization
  • Ongoing professional development opportunities such as role development (Charge Nurse, Clinical Coach)
  • Life Support Certifications

Non-clinical courses include: 

  • Computer application
  • Leadership development

In-house experts and regional and national presenters serve as instructors for our courses. Vidant Health, via our web-based learning management system called LearnCenter, offers more than 250 online learning modules.

Contact information

Community Training Center: Life Support Offerings include: 

  • CPR/BLS
  • HeartSaver AED
  • ACLS
  • PALS
  • NRP

Joyce Owens, RN
Coordinator, Community Training Center
(252) 847-5848


Vidant Health Organizational Development
Donna Moses, MSN, RN

Administrator, Center for Learning and Performance
(252) 847-4454
dmoses@vidanthealth.com 


Vidant Medical Center Computer Applications and LearnCenter
Shanya Andrews, MS

Manager, Comp App Tr and Visual Media
(252) 847-3867
sandrews@vidanthealth.com 


Vidant Medical Center Visual Media Development
Edgar La Motte Welch, MPA

Manager, Media Services
(252) 847-4816
Edgar.LaMotteWelch@vidanthealth.com 


Vidant Medical Center Clinical Innovations
Gene Eakes, RN, EdD

Director, Vidant Medial Center Clinical Education
(252) 847-2543
gene.eakes@vidanthealth.com 


Vidant Health Computer Applications and Instructional Design
Alise Rowan, MS

Manager, Vidant Health Computer Applications
(252) 847-8828
alise.rowan@vidanthealth.com 


Vidant Duplin Center for Learning and Performance
Krista Horne, RN, MSN

Director, Vidant Duplin Education
(910) 296-2917
krista.horne@vidanthealth.com 


Vidant Edgecombe Hospital Education Department
Cathy Bellamy, RN, MSN

Manager, Vidant Edgecombe Education
(252) 641-7489
cbellam@vidanthealth.com 


The Outer Banks Center for Learning and Performance
Jan Eanes, RN, MSN

Educational Nurse Specialist, OBH Education
(252) 449-5688
jeanes@vidanthealth.com 


Vidant Roanoke-Chowan Hospital Education Department
Valorie Cooke, RN-BC, MSN

Director, Vidant Roanoke-Chowan Education
(252) 209-3162
vcooke@vidanthealth.com 


Vidant Chowan and Bertie Hospital Education
Patricia B. Jordan, RN-BC, MSN

Manager, Hospital Education
(252) 482-6873
PBJordan@vidanthealth.com 

Label