Latest News

Neuroscience Intermediate Unit at Vidant Medical Center receives Award for Excellence

October 04, 2018 posted by Erica Mizelle

Greenville, N.C. – The Neuroscience Intermediate Unit at Vidant Medical Center (VMC) recently received a silver-level Beacon Award for Excellence from the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN).

“We are delighted to receive this recognition from AACN. The Neuroscience Intermediate Unit is comprised of dedicated team members who are focused on improving the health and well-being of eastern North Carolina,” said Linda Hofler, PhD, RN, FACHE, NEA-BC, senior vice president, nurse executive for VMC.

The Beacon Award for Excellence—a significant milestone on the path to exceptional patient care and healthy work environments—recognizes unit caregivers who successfully improve patient outcomes and align practices with AACN’s Healthy Work Environment Standards.

“This acknowledgement highlights the commitment and high standards of care I see in action every day, as this team supports the patients and families we serve,” said Jamie B. Gautier, BSN, RN-BC, NE-BC, nurse manager of the Neurosciences Intermediate Unit at VMC.

The award also establishes the VMC team among other members of an exceptional community of nurses who set the standard for optimal patient care.

“I am thrilled for what this means for this team, for VMC and the region,” said Dawn Tetterton, MSN, RN, BC, administrator of Patient Care Services at VMC. “A devoted team who delivers care based on best practice benefits us all.”

The silver-level Beacon Award for Excellence earned by the Neuroscience Intermediate Unit at VMC signifies continuous learning and effective systems to achieve optimal patient care, based on the following criteria:

  • Leadership Structures and Systems
  • Appropriate Staffing and Staff Engagement
  • Effective Communication, Knowledge Management, Learning and Development
  • Evidence-Based Practice and Processes
  • Outcome Measurement

“The Beacon Award for Excellence recognizes caregivers in stellar units whose consistent and systematic approach to evidence-based care optimizes patient outcomes,” said AACN President Clareen Wiencek, RN, PhD, ACNP, ACHPN. “Units that receive this national recognition serve as role models to others on their journey to excellent patient and family care.”

Units that achieve this three-year, three-level award with a gold, silver or bronze designation meet national criteria consistent with Magnet Recognition, the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award and the National Quality Healthcare Award.


NSIU team members pictured include: Jamie Gautier, nurse manager, RN- BC, NE- BC; Dwayne Godwin, RN, ANM; Carrie Haddock, RN; Maurice Webb, care partner; Tennille Drake, US; Harriett Wilder, RN II; Debbie Battle, US; Latressa Sims, care partner; Brianna Moore, RN; Meredith Pauli, RN II, RN- BC; Morgan Sauls, RN II, RN – BC; Alyssa Ballestero, RN II, RN – BC; Emily Nock, RN; Jennifer Hall, care partner; Jaime Baker, care partner; Brandy Allen, care partner; Katharine Perry, NA I; Jenna Pauli, RN; Ana Calvio, RN; Crystal Hawks, US; Frankie Jordan, RN IV, RN-BC; Jordan Spencer, RN; Leasia Gooding, RN; and Fonne Norman, care partner


Media contact: Erica Mizelle, 252.531.4612 or


About the Beacon Award for Excellence

Established in 2003, the Beacon Award for Excellence offers a road map to help guide exceptional care through improved outcomes and greater overall patient satisfaction. U.S. or Canadian units where patients receive their principal nursing care after hospital admission qualify for this excellence award. Units that receive the Beacon Award for Excellence meet criteria in six categories: leadership structures and systems; appropriate staffing and staff engagement; effective communication, knowledge management, learning and development; evidence-based practice and processes; and outcome measurement. To learn more, visit or call (800) 899-2226.

About the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses

Founded in 1969 and based in Aliso Viejo, Calif., the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) is the largest specialty nursing organization in the world. AACN joins together the interests of more than 500,000 acute and critical care nurses and claims more than 235 chapters worldwide. The organization’s vision is to create a healthcare system driven by the needs of patients and their families in which acute and critical care nurses make their optimal contribution. To learn more about AACN, visit, connect with the organization on Facebook at or follow AACN on Twitter at

About Vidant Health

Vidant Health is a mission-driven, 1,512-bed health system that annually serves more than 1.4 million people in 29 eastern North Carolina counties. The not-for-profit system is made up of more than 12,500 employees, eight hospitals, home health, hospice, wellness centers, and Vidant Medical Group, a multi-specialty physician and provider group with more than 500 providers in more than 90 locations in eastern North Carolina. Vidant is affiliated with The Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University. As a major resource for health services and education, Vidant has a mission to improve the health and well-being of eastern North Carolina. For more information, visit

español »